DE  |  FR  |  IT
About Rapunzel

Invitation to the One World Award ceremony


Online award ceremony: Monday, April 26th at 5 PM CEST

The winners of the sixth One World Award were selected. Celebrate with us unique projects and people from around the world.

The award ceremony will be broadcast live from Rapunzel headquarters in Legau/Bavaria. We are very pleased to welcome our guest of honor, Federal Development Minister, Dr. Gerd Müller, who will join us live as laudatory speaker.

Get to know the award winners and let yourself be inspired! Monday, April 26th at 5 PM CEST

Livestream coming soon

We cordially invite you to the award ceremony. We appreciate if you would also forward this invitation within your networks, to your partners and friends!


Rapunzel Supports Future Makers


Rapunzel is represented around the world. Our raw materials are procured in nearly 40 countries. Rapunzel products are exported to as many countries. This international contact is the reason why company founder and Managing Director Joseph Wilhelm occupies himself intensively with the topic of globalization.

Inspired by this experience and the success of the HAND IN HAND fair trade program, Joseph Wilhelm and Rapunzel initiated the international “One World Award” (OWA) in 2008. The underlying thought of the award is the notion: we all live in one world.

With IFOAM, the International Federation of the worldwide Organic Farming Movement, Rapunzel found an ideal partner. Coordinator and Chairman of the OWA jury is Berward Geier, former Managing Director of IFOAM for 18 years.

Selection Process and Award Ceremony


Nominations meeting the outlined basic requirements will be screened by a panel made up by jury member Joseph Wilhelm, the jury chairman Bernward Geier and the organizing team. The jury chairman will personally visit the five finalists and their projects.  

Based on the information from the OWA application, visit reports and the interviews with the nominees, the international OWA jury selects the OWA laureate from five finalists.

Every finalist receives an OWA certificate and a cash amount of 2,000 Euro. The OWA laureate receives a bronze OWA statue and 25,000 Euro prize money.

Goals of the One World Award

  • Support for globalization projects where the focus lies not exclusively on the maximization of profits but instead on the three pillars of sustainability: ecology, social aspects and economy.
     
  • Recognition of outstanding efforts and creative projects that promote the organic idea.
     
  • Encouragement for people who work for a future worth living and a peaceful society.

The Laureates


The One World Award (OWA) honors people, projects and innovative ideas who give globalization a positive dimension and make the world better and more equitable.

Eligible are especially those ideas and projects that are based on the three pillars of sustainability: ecology, economy and social aspects. In addition to the “One World Award”, Rapunzel also presents the „Lifetime Achievement Award“ which honors prominent pioneers and outstanding persons who have worked throughout their live for the advancement and support of the organic movement.

Reinforcements for the OWA jury


This year, the One World Award is presented for the 6th time. New this year: the OWA jury has grown and new experts enrich the team. In the future, the applications from all over the world will be evaluated by six instead of four jury members. 

Short portraits of the jury members:

Bernward Geier,
Germany

Jury coordinator

Jury coordinator since 2008 when the OWA was first initiated. Bernward Geier has been active in more than 100 countries and for more than 40 years as networker, journalist, lecturer or moderator for agricultural issues and environmental politics.

Joseph Wilhelm,
Germany


The founder and managing director of Rapunzel Naturkost started the OWA in 2008. The organic pioneer is a worldwide promoter of organic agriculture and for just and peaceful living – with fair trade, proprietary organic cultivation projects and active involvement against agropoisons and GMOs.

Dr. Vandana Shiva,
India


The physicist with a PhD is globally involved in environmental issues, biodiversity, women's rights and sustainability. For her extensive engagement, she received several awards such as the Right Livelihood Award. She has been active as OWA jury member since the beginning.

Dr. Hans Herren,
Switzerland/USA


The internationally-renowned scientist, farmer and Right Livelihood Award laureate is one of the new jury members. He founded the Biovision Foundation that focuses on developing successful organic strategies. In 2010, Hans Herren and Biovision were awarded with the OWA.

Julia Lernoud,
Argentina


At the Reasearch Institute of Organic Agriculture (FiBL), this new jury member used to compile the annual reports "The World of Organic Agriculture". Since 2017, she is member of the IFOAM - Organics International World Board. IFOAM (International Federation of Organic Agriulture Movements) has been partner of the OWA since its start.

Santiago J. Sarandón,
Argentina


The professor of Agricultural Ecology is also new in the OWA jury. His research focuses on sustainable agriculture and biodiversity and he is an internationally-renowned lecturer and author.

Shamiso Mungwashu,
Zimbabwe


The co-founder of the „Fair Trade Support Network Zimbabwe” (FSNZ) is committed to improving the living conditions in her homeland - with respect to fair trade, organic agriculture, sustainable development or children's rights. The 2017 OWA laureate now supports the jury for the first time. 

For more information about the One World Award please click here:

HAND IN HAND

Fair trade and organic farming are central for Rapunzel


Foreign Distributors

We distribute our products around the world - our local partners are happy to help you.


Buy Online

No organic store in your neighborhood? Order directly in the Rapunzel webshop.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2021 • Imprint & privacy protectionPrint version

EN  |  FR  |  IT
Über Rapunzel

One World Award Preisverleihung


Online-Veranstaltung: Montag, 26. April um 17:00 Uhr MESZ

Die Gewinner des sechsten One World Awards stehen fest. Feiern Sie mit uns einmalige Projekte und Menschen aus der ganzen Welt.

Die Verleihung wird dieses Mal per Livestream direkt vom Rapunzel Firmensitz in Legau/Bayern ausgestrahlt. Wir freuen uns, als Ehrengast Bundes­entwicklungs­minister Dr. Gerd Müller als Sprecher/Laudator live bei der Verleihung dabei zu haben.

Schalten Sie am Montag, 26. April um 17:00 Uhr ein, lernen Sie die Gewinner kennen und lassen Sie sich inspirieren!

Livestream in Kürze verfügbar

Gerne können Sie die Einladung an Ihre Netzwerke, Partner und Freunde weiterleiten.


Rapunzel unterstützt Zukunftsmacher


Rapunzel ist ein weltweit agierendes Unternehmen. So werden die Rohstoffe aus knapp 40 Ländern beschafft. In ebenso viele Länder werden Rapunzel Produkte exportiert. Dieser internationale Kontakt führt dazu, dass sich Firmengründer und Geschäftsführer Joseph Wilhelm sehr intensiv mit dem Thema Globalisierung auseinandersetzt.

Inspiriert von diesen Erfahrungen und dem Erfolg des Fair-Handels-Programms HAND IN HAND riefen Joseph Wilhelm und Rapunzel im Jahr 2008 den internationalen Preis „One World Award“ (OWA) ins Leben. Im Vordergrund stand dabei der Gedanke: Wir leben alle in einer gemeinsamen Welt.

Mit der IFOAM, dem internationalen Dachverband der weltweiten Bio-Landbaubewegung, fand Rapunzel einen idealen Partner. Koordinator des One World Award und Jury-Vorsitzender ist Bernward Geier, der 18 Jahre lang als IFOAM-Geschäftsführer fungierte.

Auswahl und Preise


Der Wettbewerb wird weltweit ausgeschrieben. Die Bewerbungen müssen bestimmte Kriterien erfüllen. Nach einem Vorauswahlverfahren werden fünf Finalisten ausgewählt, welche der Jury-Vorsitzende vor Ort besucht. Basierend auf den Bewerbungsunterlagen, dem Besuchsbericht und Interviews mit den Bewerbern wählt die international besetzte OWA-Jury aus den Finalisten den OWA-Preisträger aus.

Jeder Finalist erhält eine Urkunde und einen Geldbetrag in Höhe von 2.000 Euro. Der OWA-Preisträger erhält eine bronzene OWA-Statue und ein Preisgeld in Höhe von 25.000 Euro.

Zielsetzung des One World Award

 
  • Die Förderung einer Globalisierung, die sich nicht ausschließlich an der Maximierung von Gewinnen, sondern an den drei Säulen der Nachhaltigkeit orientiert: Ökologie, soziale Aspekte und Ökonomie.
     
  • Das Erkennen von besonderen Leistungen und kreativen Projekten zur Förderung von Umweltschutz und fairen Lebensbedingungen.
     
  • Das Mutmachen zu einem verstärkten Einsatz für eine glückliche, lebenswerte Zukunft und eine friedliche Gesellschaft.

Die Preisträger


Der One World Award (OWA) zeichnet Menschen und Projekte aus, die der Globalisierung eine positive Dimension geben und mit innovativen Ideen die Welt besser und fairer gestalten.

Im Vordergrund der Auszeichnung stehen Ideen und Projekte, die auf den drei Säulen der Nachhaltigkeit basieren: Ökologie, Ökonomie und Soziales. Zusätzlich zum „One World Award“ wird der „Lifetime Achievement Award“ verliehen. Diese Auszeichnung ehrt herausragende Pioniere und Persönlichkeiten, die sich Zeit ihres Lebens für die (Weiter-)Entwicklung und Unterstützung der Bio-Bewegung eingesetzt haben.

Die Jury bekommt Verstärkung


In diesem Jahr wird der One World Award zum 6. Mal verliehen. Eine Neuerung: Die OWA-Jury ist gewachsen und neue Fachleute bereichern das Team. Statt bisher vier Jury-Mitgliedern bewerten künftig sechs engagierte Juroren aus aller Welt die Bewerbungen.

Die Jury-Mitglieder im Kurzportrait:

Bernward Geier,
Deutschland

Koordinator der Jury

Seit Gründung des OWA im Jahr 2008 engagiert er sich als Jury-Koordinator. Bernward Geier ist seit über 40 Jahren im Bereich der Landwirtschafts- und Umweltpolitik aktiv, ob als Netzwerker, Journalist, Vortragender oder Moderator in über 100 Ländern.

Joseph Wilhelm,
Deutschland


Der Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Rapunzel Naturkost rief 2008 den OWA ins Leben. Der Bio-Pionier engagiert sich weltweit für eine ökologische Landwirtschaft und eine gerechtere Welt – mit fairem Handel, eigenen Bio-Anbauprojekten sowie Aktionen gegen Ackergifte und Agro-Gentechnik.

Dr. Vandana Shiva,
Indien


Die promovierte Physikerin engagiert sich weltweit in den Bereichen Umweltschutz, biologische Vielfalt, Frauenrechte und Nachhaltigkeit. Für ihr umfassendes Engagement wurde sie bereits vielfach ausgezeichnet, zum Beispiel mit dem Alternativen Nobelpreis. Sie wirkt seit Beginn in der OWA-Jury mit.

Dr. Hans Herren,
Schweiz/USA


Der international bekannte Wissenschaftler, Landwirt und Alternative Nobelpreisträger ist neu in der Jury. Er gründete die Stiftung Biovision, die sich auf erfolgreiche ökologische Entwicklungsstrategien konzentriert. 2010 wurden Hans Herren und Biovision mit dem OWA ausgezeichnet.

Julia Lernoud,
Argentinien


Die neue Jurorin erarbeitete am Forschungsinstitut für biologischen Landbau (FiBL) die jährlichen Berichte „The World of Organic Agriculture“. Seit 2017 ist sie im Weltvorstand der IFOAM – Organics International (Internationale Vereinigung der ökologischen Landbaubewegungen) tätig. IFOAM ist seit Beginn Partner des OWA.

Santiago J. Sarandón,
Argentinien


Der Professor für Agrarökologie ist ebenfalls neu in der Jury. Im Rahmen seiner wissenschaftlichen Forschung rund um die Themen nachhaltige Landwirtschaft und Biodiversität ist er ein international gefragter Redner und Buchautor.

Shamiso Mungwashu,
Zimbabwe


Die Mitbegründerin des „Fair Trade Support Network Zimbabwe” (FSNZ) setzt sich für bessere Lebensbedingungen in ihrer Heimat ein – ob für fairen Handel, ökologische Landwirtschaft, nachhaltige Entwicklung oder Kinderrechte. Die OWAGewinnerin von 2017 unterstützt nun erstmals selbst die Jury

Mehr Informationen zum One World Award unter:

Jedes Essen zählt!

DIE Quelle für Veggie-Leben mit Backschule, Videos, Kochstudio, uvm...


Wo gibt´s Rapunzel?

Rapunzel Produkte sind in Bio-Läden, Naturkost-Fachgeschäften, Reform­häusern oder Bio-Super­märkten in ganz Deutschland erhältlich.


Online einkaufen

Kein Bio-Laden in der Nähe? Im Rapunzel Webshop bestellen Sie direkt bei uns.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2021 • Impressum & DatenschutzSeite drucken