Frequently asked questions abour pasta & noodles
Why are there black dots on Rapunzel pasta?
All Rapunzel pasta products contain bran particles. Bran is typically found in wholemeal noodles, but our Semola pasta is also made with ground durum wheat semolina (types ranging between 812 and 1050). The bran particles that consist mostly of dietary fiber darken more during the pasta drying process than the other pasta ingredients and become visible as small, dark dots on the pasta. The dots indicate that our Semola pasta also contains bran. The black dots have nothing to do with pollution or contamination, nor mould.
Do you remove the outer layers and the seedling during the manufacturing of Rapunzel wholemeal noodles?
For the production of Rapunzel wholemeal noodles grain kernels are ground into semolina with a grain size of approximately 200-500 μm. During the manufacturing of the wholegrain semolina in Italy, the outermost part of the pericarp is removed. The wholegrain semolina contains nearly 90% of the grain kernel - including most of the pericarp and all of the seedling. Rapunzel wholemeal noodles are made with a flour type that averages 1600. This manufacturing process is typical for the preparation of Italian durum wheat pasta that is made without eggs. The outermost pericarp layer is removed in order to ensure best noodle consistency and cohesion. Moreover, it has also positive effects for the flavor of the pasta.
What is the extraction rate of Rapunzel Semola pasta?
Light Italian pasta is made with ground durum wheat semolina. In the manufacturing process the bran is sieved and only 50% of the seedling remains in the semolina. Classical pasta Semola contains approximately 65% of the entire grain kernel which corresponds to an ash content (= flour type) of 850 on average. The so-called "flour type" is normally used only to describe flour, but this figure also gives information about the ash content of the ground grain product. From the flour type, the pericarp concentration in the flour can also be deduced.
Are gluten-free Rapunzel rice noodles wholemeal noodles?
Our rice spaghetti are made from white, finely ground rice. It is necessary to grind the rice in order to ensure a good flavor and especially the best consistency. The mineral content totals 0.405 % (= flour type 405).
What is kamut?
Kamut is an ancient variety of today's durum wheat. Kamut probably originated from the "fertile crescent", the region between Egypt and the Euphrates and Tigris rivers. Kamut was forgotten for a long time, before it was recently "rediscovered" - like spelt.
Kamut is a grain type that was not changed through breeding with other grain varieties. It has a wholesome, slightly nutlike flavor.
Original kamut can be used for many sweet and savory foods made with grain, such as bread, pastries, cakes and noodles. Due to its high content of protein and gluten, kamut can be used for the preparation of tasty, egg-free pasta.