The fair value-added chain
with Rapunzel chocolate as an example


A master student examined the value-added chain of cocoa / chocolate. For the purpose of the master study conventional chocolate was compared with Rapunzel HAND IN HAND (HIH) chocolate, in particularly Rapunzel HIH Bittersweet Chocolate with 85 % cocoa (100 % cocoa from Bolivia) and Rapunzel HIH Whole Milk Chocolate with 38 % cocoa.  

The results of the study provide strong arguments for the purchase of fair trade organic chocolate as the value-added chain of conventional chocolate is long and lacks transparency.

Which share from the chocolate proceeds goes to the cocoa farmers?


The conventional value chain – long and hardly transparent


Cooa producers in the conventional cocoa industry get a relatively small part of the value chain. The producers get barely a glimpse of the market development and have no influence on the market (for example with respect to pricing). As a result, the producers often remain poor. Conventional producers also are left in the dark as to which products are made from the cocoa nor where the cocoa is marketed. At the time when this study was made (2012), conventional cocoa farmers received between 3 and 6 € Cent per sold bar of milk chocolate (from: Südwind-Studie 2012, suedwind-institut.de)   
 Quelle: Südwind-Studie 2012, suedwind-institut.de
Quelle: Südwind-Studie 2012, suedwind-institut.de
Market concentration = power concentration 
In the conventional food industry, a pronounced concentration of power can be found in the value chain: the market power is mainly in the hands of the cocoa buyers/intermediate traders, exporters and cocoa processors. 

The vaue chain of Rapunzel HIH dark chocolate 85 % cocoa


The fair value chain of our HIH dark chocolate 85 % cocoa is significantly shorter and more transparent. The percentage shares of the value chain are considerably more balanced at the different levels. No value chain participant has a pronouced power concentration - all members of the value chain should participate in the value chain.  

The share of the Hand IN HAND farmers in the value chain is significantly greater 
The El Ceibo Cooperative, Rapunzel's cocoa supplier for more than 25 years, received in 2012 approximately 30 Cent for each bar of dark chocolate 85 % cocoa HIH (85 g). This corresponds to a 16 % share of the value chain. For a Rapunzel whole milk chocolate HIH with 38 % cocoa that can be compared to the chocolate examined in the Südwind study, the value chain share amounts to 16 € Cent per chocolate bar (100g).  This corresponds to a value chain share of approximately 9 %. 

Transparent trade routes
Members of the El Ceibo Cooperative have visited Rapunzel in Legau on many occasions. In turn, Rapunzel also visited El Ceibo in Bolivia many times. The members of the Cooperative know the products that are made with their cocoa beans and they know their market and sales partners.  
In earlier times, cocoa beans were so valuable that they were used as currency
In earlier times, cocoa beans were so valuable that they were used as currency
In earlier times, cocoa beans were so valuable that they were used as currency

Joseph Wilhelm with Bernardo Apaza from El Ceibo in Bolivia
Joseph Wilhelm with Bernardo Apaza from El Ceibo in Bolivia
Joseph Wilhelm with Bernardo Apaza from El Ceibo in Bolivia

Many steps are needed in order to make fine chocolate from these cocoa fruit
Many steps are needed in order to make fine chocolate from these cocoa fruit
Many steps are needed in order to make fine chocolate from these cocoa fruit

HAND IN HAND

Fair trade and organic farming are central for Rapunzel


Foreign Distributors

We distribute our products around the world - our local partners are happy to help you.


Buy Online

No organic store in your neighborhood? Order directly in the Rapunzel webshop.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2019 • Imprint & privacy protectionPrint version

EN  |  FR  |  IT

Die faire Wertschöpfungskette
Untersuchung am Beispiel der Rapunzel Schokolade


Im Rahmen einer Masterarbeit wurde in unserem Hause die Wertschöpfungskette von Kakao / Schokolade untersucht. Dabei wurde konventionelle Schokolade mit Rapunzel HAND IN HAND (HIH)-Schokolade verglichen. Die Rapunzel Bitterschokolade 85 % Kakao HIH stand dabei im Fokus (100 % Kakao aus Bolivien). Aber auch eine Rapunzel HIH-Vollmilchschokolade 38 % Kakao wurde für einen Vergleich herangezogen.

Das Ergebnis dieser Untersuchung liefert starke Argumente für den Kauf von fairer Bio-Schokolade, denn die konventionelle Wertschöpfungskette ist lang und wenig transparent.

Wie viel vom Schokoladen-Erlös kommt bei den Kakao-Bauern an?


Die konventionelle Wertschöpfungskette – lang und wenig transparent


Der Kakao-Erzeuger im konventionellen Kakao-Markt hat einen relativ geringen Anteil an der Wertschöpfungskette. Er kann das Marktgeschehen so gut wie nicht überblicken oder gar beeinflussen (zum Beispiel die Preisgestaltung) und verbleibt oft in Armut. Zudem kann er kaum erfahren, in welche Produkte oder wohin sein Kakao gelangt. Zum untersuchten Zeitpunkt (2012) erhält der Bauer zwischen 3 und 6 €-Cent je verkaufter Tafel Milchschokolade. (Quelle: Südwind-Studie 2012, suedwind-institut.de)


 Quelle: Südwind-Studie 2012, suedwind-institut.de
Quelle: Südwind-Studie 2012, suedwind-institut.de
Marktkonzentration = Machtkonzentration
Im konventionellen Handel ist eine ausgeprägte Machtkonzentration in der Wertschöpfungskette zu finden: Diese befindet sich vor allem bei den Aufkäufern/ Zwischenhändlern, Exporteuren und Kakao-Verarbeitern.

Die Wertschöpfungskette von Rapunzel HIH-Bitterschokolade 85 % Kakao


Die faire Wertschöpfungskette bei unserer HIH-Bitterschokolade 85 % Kakao ist wesentlich kürzer und transparenter. Die prozentualen Anteile an der Wertschöpfung sind auf den verschiedenen Stufen deutlich ausgewogener. Es gibt somit keine ausgeprägte Machtkonzentration – alle sollen an der Wertschöpfung beteiligt sein. 

Der Anteil der HAND IN HAND Bauern an der Wertschöpfung ist deutlich höher
Die Kooperative El Ceibo, der Rapunzel Kakaolieferant seit über 25 Jahren, erhält zum untersuchten Zeitpunkt (2012) ca. 30 Cent je Tafel Bitterschokolade 85 % Kakao HIH (85 g). Dies entspricht einem Anteil von 16% an der Wertschöpfung. Bei einer zur Südwind-Studie vergleichbaren Rapunzel Vollmilch Schokolade HIH mit 38 % KakaoAnteil sind es 16 €-Cent je Tafel (100 g). Das entspricht einem Wertschöpfungs-Anteil von ca. 9 %.

Die Handelswege sind transparent
Vielfach waren Vertreter von El Ceibo bei uns in Legau zu Gast. Genauso war Rapunzel immer wieder in Bolivien vor Ort bei El Ceibo. Die Mitglieder der Kooperative wissen, in welche Produkte ihre Kakaobohnen fließen und kennen ihre Markt- und Vertriebspartner. 
Kakaobohnen waren früher so wertvoll, dass sie als Zahlungsmittel dienten

Joseph Wilhelm mit Bernardo Apaza von El Ceibo in Bolivien

Um aus diesen Kakaofrüchten feine Schokolade herzustellen, sind viele Schritte notwendig

Jedes Essen zählt!

DIE Quelle für Veggie-Leben mit Backschule, Videos, Kochstudio, uvm...


Wo gibt´s Rapunzel?

Rapunzel Produkte sind in Bio-Läden, Naturkost-Fachgeschäften, Reform­häusern oder Bio-Super­märkten in ganz Deutschland erhältlich.


Online einkaufen

Kein Bio-Laden in der Nähe? Im Rapunzel Webshop bestellen Sie direkt bei uns.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2017 • Impressum & DatenschutzSeite drucken