DE  |  FR  |  IT

Rapunzel among the forerunners for sustainable palm oil


WWF publishes the palm oil scorecard 2017
Palm oil is recovered from the bright orange colored fruit pulp.
Palm oil is recovered from the bright orange colored fruit pulp.
Palm oil is recovered from the bright orange colored fruit pulp.

[02/18]  With its sustainably produced and fair-trade organic palm oil Rapunzel Naturkost scored again at the WWF palm oil check 2017: the evaluation of the environmental organization ranked Rapunzel in second place among more than 250 surveyed companies.

The current WWF palm oil score board confirms that the effort for fair-trade and sustainably cultivated organic palm oil is the best way. Rapunzel purchases and uses for its products only fair-trade, organic palm oil. Not only the environment benefits from this fair cooperation but also the workers and peasants in Ghana or Ecuador who participate in Rapunzel's proprietary HAND IN HAND fair trade program. 
 

Sustainable palm oil is possible - in organic & fair quality


Since 2009, WWF has been examining the purchasing policy of German companies that source and process palm oil. With its palm oil scorecard, the environmental organization wants to promote sustainably produced palm oil.
In 2017, Rapunzel was evaluated for the second time and received 20 points on the WWF scorecard. Only two other companies received the maximum score of 21 points.

WWF subtracted one point from Rapunzel, because the natural food producer is not a member of FONAP, the Forum for Sustainable Palm Oil. Rapunzel consciously decided not to join the Forum because Rapunzel's strict criteria for fair-trade organic palm oil surpass the FONAP requirements.

Additional points for organic quality or for fair-trade palm oil were not distributed. But WWF explicitly underscores Rapunzel's commitment: "Only a few companies use organic palm oil and in doing so, they take a big step in the right direction. Some forerunners like Rapunzel Naturkost count on organic quality and a "Fair for Life" certification in order to provide good social conditions - especially for the peasant farmers."
 

more about the WWF palm oil check


HAND IN HAND

Fair trade and organic farming are central for Rapunzel


Foreign Distributors

We distribute our products around the world - our local partners are happy to help you.


Buy Online

No organic store in your neighborhood? Order directly in the Rapunzel webshop.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2019 • Imprint & privacy protectionPrint version

EN  |  FR  |  IT

Rapunzel bei den Spitzenreitern für nachhaltiges Palmöl


WWF veröffentlicht die Palmöl Scorecard 2017
Palmöl wird aus dem leuchtend-orangen Fruchtfleisch gewonnen.

[02/18]  Mit seinem nachhaltig produzierten und fair gehandelten Bio-Palmöl punktete Rapunzel Naturkost erneut beim WWF-Palmöl-Check 2017: Rapunzel steht an zweitbester Stelle unter mehr als 250 befragten Unternehmen bei der Bewertung der Umweltorganisation.

Die aktuelle WWF Scorecard für Palmöl bestätigt, dass der Einsatz für faires und nachhaltig angebautes Bio-Palmöl der richtige Weg ist. Rapunzel bezieht und verarbeitet für seine Produkte ausschließlich fair gehandeltes Bio-Palmöl. Von dieser fairen Zusammenarbeit profitieren nicht nur die Umwelt, sondern auch die Arbeiter und Kleinbauern in Ghana und Ecuador, mit denen Rapunzel vertrauensvoll in dem eigenen Fairhandels-Programm HAND IN HAND zusammenarbeitet.
 

Nachhaltiges Palmöl ist möglich – mit Bio & Fair


Der WWF nimmt seit 2009 alle zwei Jahre die Einkaufspolitik deutscher Unternehmen, die Palmöl einkaufen und verarbeiten, unter die Lupe. Mit der Palmöl-Scorecard möchte die Umweltorganisation nachhaltig produziertem Palmöl mehr zum Durchbruch verhelfen.
Rapunzel ist 2017 zum zweiten Mal in dieser Befragung bewertet worden und erhielt 20 Punkte. Nur zwei Unternehmen erhielten 21 Punkte.

Rapunzel erhielt einen Punkt Abzug, da der Naturkosthersteller nicht Mitglied des Forums Nachhaltiges Palmöl (FONAP) ist. Und das ganz bewusst: Denn die strengen Maßstäbe von Rapunzel für das fair gehandelte Bio-Palmöl gehen weit über die von FONAP geforderten Kriterien hinaus.

In der Bewertung gibt es keine zusätzlichen Punkte für Bio oder fairen Handel. Jedoch hebt der WWF das Engagement von Rapunzel besonders hervor: „Einige wenige Unternehmen nutzen Bio-Palmöl und gehen damit einen großen Schritt voran. Einige Vorreiter wie Rapunzel setzen zusätzlich zu Bio noch auf eine „Fair for Life“-Zertifizierung, um auch gute soziale Bedingungen – insbesondere für Kleinbauern – zu schaffen.“

mehr zum WWF Palmölcheck


Jedes Essen zählt!

DIE Quelle für Veggie-Leben mit Backschule, Videos, Kochstudio, uvm...


Wo gibt´s Rapunzel?

Rapunzel Produkte sind in Bio-Läden, Naturkost-Fachgeschäften, Reform­häusern oder Bio-Super­märkten in ganz Deutschland erhältlich.


Online einkaufen

Kein Bio-Laden in der Nähe? Im Rapunzel Webshop bestellen Sie direkt bei uns.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2018 • Impressum & DatenschutzSeite drucken