DE  |  FR  |  IT

More organic in the global South


Rapunzel and their fair-trade partners work out future strategies in the HAND IN HAND workshop
Three generations of the Wilhelm family welcome the HAND IN HAND partners and introduce the program for the evening.
Three generations of the Wilhelm family welcome the HAND IN HAND partners and introduce the program for the evening.
Three generations of the Wilhelm family welcome the HAND IN HAND partners and introduce the program for the evening.
[03/19]  Every year in February the contemplative village of Legau plays host for guests from around the world. That's when Rapunzel's fair-trade partners from the HAND IN HAND program meet for their annual workshop. In 2019, 25 representatives from 13 HAND IN HAND partners from 13 different countries travelled to Rapunzel headquarters in order to discuss current issues. In which situations could HAND IN HAND suppliers ask Rapunzel for practical support? In which areas can Rapunzel and the fair-trade partners still intensify their collaboration in order to improve the positive effects for the producers? 

Long-term trade relations drive development
An important point of discussion was the question what the actual effects of fair trade are. Which factors restrict possible positive effects? How can positive effects be further enhanced and/or supported? The discussion showed that indirect local, social and ecological conditions play the decisive roles in the countries of origin, much more than the financial fair trade bonuses that are paid to the producers. The fair-trade partners appreciate especially the long-term stability that result from fair trade relations and the development opportunities that are associated with such a stable, long-term relationship. 

A limiting factor in some fair-trade programs are requirements that are not adapted to the local life of the people - and that are therefore difficult to implement for the fair-trade partners. However, Rapunzel's fair-trade partners agree: the HAND IN HAND program is exemplary also in this respect. 

more on HAND IN HAND

More organic through "participative guarantee systems"


The prerequisite for a supplier to become a HAND IN HAND partner is an organic certification. This is the imperative basic requirement - but at the same time, this requirement is often difficult to implement for suppliers from countries of the global South. And how can a supplier handle those products that he cannot sell to Rapunzel as HAND IN HAND products (or as other organic and fair merchandise to other foreign buyers), but that he produces for the local market or for home consumption? A "conventional" organic certification for local markets is often simply too expensive. How can the producer nevertheless guarantee the quality of these products?

 
A possible solution for this problem could be so-called "participative guarantee systems". The idea behind this rather technical term is to include local stakeholders from the countries of origin into the gurantee process. Universities, NGOs or other growers and producers could secure and guarantee certain (organic) qualities of a particular farmer. This way, the stakeholders would open up a way to further propagate and support "de facto organic" and to protect local markets against agrochemicals. The advantages for the people and the ecosystem of the respective country are obvious - and at the same time the risk of contamination for organic export products could be reduced.       

Strong women: Samia Chibani (center), HAND IN HAND supplier of dates, and Sitti Chiabiddine (left), HAND IN HAND supplier of Bourbon vanilla
Strong women: Samia Chibani (center), HAND IN HAND supplier of dates, and Sitti Chiabiddine (left), HAND IN HAND supplier of Bourbon vanilla
Strong women: Samia Chibani (center), HAND IN HAND supplier of dates, and Sitti Chiabiddine (left), HAND IN HAND supplier of Bourbon vanilla

Important exchange in a laid back atmosphere 


Two intense days at Rapunzel: the meeting in Legau is a valuable platform for all HAND IN HAND partners and the organic food producer Rapunzel. Although the suppliers went after the workshop in Legau to visit the Biofach in Nuremberg - the world's largest organic trade show -  the benefits of the HAND IN HAND workshop were evident for all partners.

Because at the workshop, the suppliers and Rapunzel exchanged their views across the continents in a relaxed atmosphere - despite similar structures with respect to supplier organizations. As an example in case, HAND IN HAND cashew supplier Achal from India has to often face similar challenges like CCF, HAND IN HAND supplier for dates from Tunisia with respect to work organization in the processing steps. Moreover, certain climatic changes affect organic coffee producers in Peru in the same way as they affect organic cocoa farmers in the Dominican Republic.    
Mrs. Samia Chibani from Tunisia confirms: „If I want to have a concrete, helpful exchange with other supplier organizations, the HAND IN HAND workshop is perfect for me. It's even better than the Biofach." 
HAND IN HAND

Fair trade and organic farming are central for Rapunzel


Foreign Distributors

We distribute our products around the world - our local partners are happy to help you.


Buy Online

No organic store in your neighborhood? Order directly in the Rapunzel webshop.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2019 • Imprint & privacy protectionPrint version

EN  |  FR  |  IT

Für mehr Bio im globalen Süden


Im HAND IN HAND-Workshop erarbeiten Rapunzel und seine Fairhandels-Partner Strategien für die Zukunft
Drei Generationen der Familie Wilhelm begrüßen die HAND IN HAND-Partner zum Abendprogramm
Drei Generationen der Familie Wilhelm begrüßen die HAND IN HAND-Partner zum Abendprogramm
Drei Generationen der Familie Wilhelm begrüßen die HAND IN HAND-Partner zum Abendprogramm
[03/19] Jeden Februar ist im beschaulichen Legau im Allgäu die Welt zu Besuch. Dann nämlich, wenn dort die Fairhandels-Partner von Rapunzels firmeneigenem HAND IN HAND-Programm zu einem Workshop zusammenkommen. 25 Vertreter von 13 HAND IN HAND-Partnern in ebenso vielen Ländern trafen sich 2019 beim Bio-Pionier zum Austausch zu aktuellen Themen. Was sind die aktuellen Herausforderungen der Partner? Wo können die HAND IN HAND-Lieferanten ganz konkret Unterstützung von Rapunzel anfragen? In welchen Bereichen gilt es zukünftig noch intensiver zusammenzuarbeiten, um noch größere Wirkung im Ursprung zu erzielen?

Langfristige Handelsbeziehungen als Motor der Entwicklung
Ein wichtiger Diskussionspunkt war die Frage, was Fairer Handel tatsächlich bewirkt. Wodurch werden mögliche Wirkungen limitiert? Und wodurch verstärkt bzw. gefördert? Die Diskussion brachte deutlich zutage, dass – mehr noch als die Fairhandels-Prämien – indirekte soziale und Umweltwirkungen in den Ursprungsländern eine entscheidende Rolle spielen. Dazu gehört auch die langfristige Stabilität durch faire Handelsbeziehungen und damit verbundene Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten der Fairhandels-Partner.

Einen begrenzenden Faktor bilden bei manchen Fairhandels-Programmen Anforderungen, die nicht an lokale Lebensrealitäten angepasst sind – und daher von den Fairhandels-Partnern nur schwer umgesetzt werden können. Die Partner von Rapunzel hingegen sind sich einig: Das HAND IN HAND-Programm zeigt sich auch in dieser Hinsicht als vorbildlich.

mehr über HAND IN HAND

Mehr Bio durch "partizipative Garantiesysteme"


Damit ein Lieferant HAND IN HAND-Partner für Rapunzel werden kann, muss er bio-zertifiziert sein. Das ist unbedingte Grundvoraussetzung – und zugleich für Lieferanten aus Ländern des Globalen Südens nicht immer ein leichter Schritt. Was aber macht der Anbauer mit denjenigen Produkten, die er nicht als HAND IN HAND-Ware an Rapunzel (oder als sonstige bio-faire Ware ins Ausland) verkauft, sondern für den Eigenverbrauch oder den lokalen Markt anpflanzt? Eine „herkömmliche“ Bio-Zertifizierung ist für den heimischen Markt oft schlicht zu teuer. Wie kann der Anbauer für diese Produkte trotzdem eine Qualitätsgarantie leisten?
Ein Ansatz könnten sogenannte Partizipative Garantiesysteme sein. Hinter diesem sperrigen Fachbegriff steht die Idee, lokale Interessenvertreter in den Ursprungsländern in den Garantieprozess miteinzubeziehen. So können beispielsweise Universitäten, NGOs oder andere Anbauer und Produzenten bestimmte (Bio-)Qualitäten eines Anbauers sichern und garantieren. Sie würden damit einen Weg öffnen, „De-facto-Bio“ weiter voranzutreiben und zu fördern und damit auch den lokalen Markt freizuhalten von Agrarchemikalien. Die Vorteile für die Bevölkerung und das Ökosystem des jeweiligen Ursprunglandes liegen klar auf der Hand – und gleichzeitig würde sich auch die Gefahr von Kontaminationen von Bio-Export-Produkten verringern.

Starke Frauen: Samia Chibani (Mitte vorne), HAND IN HAND-Lieferantin von Datteln, und Sitti Chiabiddine (links), HAND IN HAND-Lieferantin von Bourbon-Vanille
Starke Frauen: Samia Chibani (Mitte vorne), HAND IN HAND-Lieferantin von Datteln, und Sitti Chiabiddine (links), HAND IN HAND-Lieferantin von Bourbon-Vanille
Starke Frauen: Samia Chibani (Mitte vorne), HAND IN HAND-Lieferantin von Datteln, und Sitti Chiabiddine (links), HAND IN HAND-Lieferantin von Bourbon-Vanille

Der HAND IN HAND-Workshop 2018
Der HAND IN HAND-Workshop 2017
Der HAND IN HAND-Workshop 2016

Wichtiger Austausch in entspannter Atmosphäre


Zwei intensive Tage bei Rapunzel: Die Begegnung in Legau ist eine wertvolle Plattform für alle HAND IN HAND-Partner und den Naturkosthersteller selbst. Obwohl die Lieferanten im Nachgang die Biofach in Nürnberg – als weltweit größte Bio-Messe – besuchten, war der Nutzen des HAND IN HAND-Workshops für alle Partner offensichtlich.

Denn auf dem Workshop fand in entspannter Atmosphäre ein Austausch über die Kontinente hinweg statt – und das bei manchmal ähnlicher Struktur der Lieferantenorganisation. Zum Beispiel sieht sich der HAND IN HAND-Lieferant Achal für Cashews aus Indien manchmal ähnlichen Herausforderungen gegenüber wie CCF, HAND IN HAND-Partner für Datteln aus Tunesien, was etwa die Arbeitsorganisation in der Verarbeitung betrifft. Und bestimmte klimatische Veränderungen treffen die Bio-Kaffeebauern in Peru genauso wie die Bio-Kakao-Anbauer in der Dominikanischen Republik.

Für Samia Chibani aus Tunesien steht fest: „Wenn ich einen konkreten, hilfreichen Austausch mit anderen Lieferantenorganisationen haben will, ist der HAND IN HAND-Workshop richtig für mich. Besser noch als die Biofach.“
Jedes Essen zählt!

DIE Quelle für Veggie-Leben mit Backschule, Videos, Kochstudio, uvm...


Wo gibt´s Rapunzel?

Rapunzel Produkte sind in Bio-Läden, Naturkost-Fachgeschäften, Reform­häusern oder Bio-Super­märkten in ganz Deutschland erhältlich.


Online einkaufen

Kein Bio-Laden in der Nähe? Im Rapunzel Webshop bestellen Sie direkt bei uns.


Rapunzel Naturkost © 2019 • Impressum & DatenschutzSeite drucken